top of page

Certification & Recertification


The CMA (AAMA) is considered the gold standard of medical assisting professionalism. The credential represents a medical assistant who has been certified by the Certifying Board of the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA). The CMA (AAMA) means a professional edge, increased prestige among colleagues, and greater job security.


The National Board of Examiners -- responsible for many national examinations for physicians—serves as test consultant for the exam. As a result, the reliability, validity, and security of the exam are of the highest order.


A greater number of employers are preferring (or even insisting) that their medical assistants be CMAs (AAMA). The AAMA staff receives 100 or more requests per day to verify that current or potential medical assistant employees are CMAs (AAMA).

2020 Recertification Policy Change

Beginning January 1, 2020 any individual whose credentials have 

been expired for more than 90 days forfeits the right

to reactivate their credentials by continuing education (CEU).

As such they will be required to:

  • Sit for the CMA (AAMA) Certification/Recertification Examination

  • Payment of a $50 reactivation fee

  • Pay the current exam fee

So, you've decided to become a CMA (AAMA).  Now what?


Step 1: Find out if you are eligible

Step 2: Enroll in and complete an accredited medical assisting program

Step 3: Apply for the exam 

Step 4: Prime your e-mail.
            Add to your approved e-mail list.

Step 5: Schedule an exam appointment 

Step 6: Study

Step 7: Pass the CMA (AAMA) Certification/Recertification Examination. 

Step 8: Keep your CMA (AAMA) credential current



For more details on each of these steps, follow this link: 

bottom of page