Provider Level CPR Certification

December 26, 2013

Notice to all CMAs (AAMA): Elimination of Current Provider Level CPR Certification

The AAMA Certifying Board has determined that, beginning June 1, 2013, current, provider level CPR certification will not be required for recertification of the CMA (AAMA) credential.


The CPR certification requirement for recertification of the CMA (AAMA) credential began in January 2005. At that time only a few employers were requiring their employees to be CPR certified. Due to the increasing frequency of medical emergencies in medical offices and clinics, the Certifying Board considered this to be a safety issue and was forward thinking in requiring that CMAs (AAMA) maintain current, provider level CPR certification.

Many, if not most, employers now require current CPR certification. Thus, the Certifying Board believes these safety concerns are being adequately addressed and current, provider level CPR certification is no longer a necessary component for CMA (AAMA) recertification.

All CMAs (AAMA) whose certification will expire by or on May 31, 2013 are still required to provide proof of current, provider level CPR certification for certification purposes.

Please reload

Featured Posts

As of January 1, 2013, only "credentialed medical assistants" (in addition to licensed health professionals) have been permitted to enter medication,...

Assessment Based Recognition

January 26, 2014

Please reload

Recent Posts

January 11, 2016

January 23, 2015

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
  • facebook-square
  • YouTube Black Square
  • Google Square
  • mailicon.png

If a link does not appear or is unavailable, please contact us.  If you feel there is something missing from this page, please contact us.

If you feel you have reached this page in error, please contact the web site administrator.


© 2015 South Dakota Society of Medical Assistants